Get in behind your favourite Young Farmer

Posted by Emma Rowe on 19 May 2016 | Comments


Get in behind your favourite Young Farmer

For the first time in the history of the New Zealand Young Farmer of the Year contest – a People’s Choice Award has been added, giving everyone the chance to get involved and vote for their favourite finalist.

“The FMG People’s Choice Award is open right now – and has been set up to help promote audience participation and sharpen the finalists’ skills around marketing beyond the farmgate” says Glenn Croasdale, head of marketing at FMG. 

“The Award provides a bit of fun between the regional finals ending and the grand final kicking off in Timaru in July (7-9).  What it also does is takes the competitive nature of the contest and spreads it beyond just the finalists.

Rural and provincial communities are fiercely loyal and parochial and this award gives people a chance to show that loyalty – and back their favourite competitor” says Croasdale.

Each of the seven finalists have established their own Facebook page, will have their face and name plastered on a billboard within their region and have received a ‘101’ on how to market themselves and seek opportunities to raise their profile.

The finalists are only limited by their imagination so long as they positively promote the rural sector and showcase themselves as young leaders in the industry. 

Everyone who votes goes into the draw to win a Fitbit Surge and the winning finalist will also pick up $1,000 for their Young Farmers region.  The People’s Choice winner will be revealed at the Grand Final on Saturday 9 July.

“Since coming on board as the principal sponsor, FMG has looked at ways to build on the competitions popularity.  We see this award as another step in evolving the contest, with the unveiling of a new trophy in the coming weeks as the next” says Croasdale.

Keep an eye out in your region for your finalist – they may pop up in the paper, on advertising billboards, at events, on social media, on radio – who knows.

Voting can be done by visiting While there you can also view their profiles, watch a video of their regional final and click through to their Facebook page.  Voting is open now and closes on Thursday 7 July. 

The seven finalists are:

  1. Jake Thomson                   Northern
  2. Calvin Ball                            Waikato / Bay of Plenty
  3. Pete Fitz-Herbert             Taranaki / Manawatu
  4. Tony Dowman                   East Coast
  5. James Hoban                     Tasman
  6. Athol New                          Aorangi
  7. Logan Wallace                   Otago / Southland.

For more information, and to request an interview with a finalist from your region contact:

Emma Rowe

Communications Team. FMG