FMG Young Farmer of the Year Taranaki Manawatu Regional Finalists announced for season 54

Posted by Erin Speedy on 23 November 2021 | Comments

The finalists for the FMG Young Farmer of the Year Taranaki Manawatu Regional Final 2022 have been announced.

46 competitors over three district contests battled it out to be named as the top eight contenders for the FMG Young Farmer of the Year Taranaki Manawatu Region.

Horizons Regional Council freshwater advisor Ben Fraser, Horizons Regional Council land management advisor Brad Beatson, dairy farmer and 2020 Manawatu Dairy Trainee of the Year David Reesby, veterinarian Georgina Campbell, PGG Wrightson cadet livestock agent Shaun Rowe, Massey University Young Farmer Sam Sheriff and Central Taranaki Young Farmers Bradley Bullot and Matthew McDougall are the top eight competitors in the region.  

They will go head-to-head at the FMG Young Farmer of the Year Taranaki Manawatu Regional Final on Saturday 19 March where only one will be crowned the region's best and go through to Grand Final in July.  

Taranaki Manawatu Regional Final co-conveners, Kate Stewart and Georgia Young say they are hoping to put on a spectacle for both competitors and spectators at the event which is being hosted at the Central District Field Days.  

"I had the best time competing in the Regional Final last year and see having our event at Field Days as a great opportunity to show more people how fantastic contest really is," Stewart says.  

Having convened a District Contest last year, Young thinks the duo's experience is the perfect combination.  

"My plan is to bring different aspects from within the agricultural industry to broaden horizons of the competitors," she said.  

"I am most excited to see how the event comes together as a whole, while also being able to showcase Young Farmers at the Central District Field Days again." 

New Zealand Young Farmers CEO Lynda Coppersmith said every year, the competition improves despite the tests that COVID-19 have provided for the third season in a row.   

“For season 54 we really want to test our competitors and see 'who's up for it'. We've already exceeded last year's entry numbers across the country, despite the fact that entries for a number of district contests are still open."  

“All of our volunteers and conveners right across the country have created some incredible challenges so far, with Regional Final season expected to take that to another level.”  



Manawatu District Contest:  

1st Ben Fraser, Whanganui Young Farmers 

2nd Brad Beatson, Marton Young Farmers  

3rd Sam Sheriff, Massey Young Farmers  


Taranaki Manawatu District Contest:  

1st David Reesby, Marton  Young Farmers 

2ND Georgina Campbell, Marton Young Farmers  


Taranaki District Contest:  

1st Bradley Bullot, Central Taranaki Young Farmers  

2nd Shaun Rowe, Central Taranaki Young Farmers  

3rd Matthew McDougall, Inglewood Young Farmers