Andrew Wiffen ‘Stoked’ to be the Tasman Regional FMG Young Farmer of the Year

Posted by on 14 March 2017 | Comments

West Coast dairy farmer Andrew Wiffen had to take time to let it sink in as he was named Tasman Regional Final FMG Young Farmer of the Year after a solid overall performance across all Challenges that saw him take out a tough contest on the West Coast.  

The overjoyed 29-year-old Dairy Farmer, in partnership with his family near Hokitika, and is no stranger to the FMG Young Farmer of the Year Regional Final, having competed numerous times and being named runner-up in the Tasman Regional Final three years running he said ‘Finally! I’m stoked just stoked”

Over the course of the day’s competition, the Grey Valley Young Farmer performed well across all facets of the contest, and also took home the Meridian Energy Agri-Knowledge Challenge under the lights at tonight’s Evening Show.

Despite only taking the title in one of the five Agri-Challenges on display across the two days, Andrew had the best consistency overall. 

For winning the final Andrew takes home $12 500 in prizes including a Honda XR150 motorbike and a $1000 Cash reward from FMG.

Second place went to Sam Heaven from Hurunui who took out the prestigious Ravensdown Agri-skills challenge. The 29-year-old helicopter pilot, in his third regional final, showed you don’t need to grow up on a farm to come up trump in the Practical.

Third place-getter Robin Hornblow didn’t take out any of the day’s challenges but like Andrew had a stellar day across all areas.

Christchurch District’s Megan Hands took home the Massey University Agri-Growth Challenge, the AGMARDT Agri-Business Challenge and Tasman Regional Award for the highest placed Female, but sadly didn’t place overall.

Hurunui’s Roscoe Taggart won the Agri-Sports Challenge with a fine display in the Head to Head fencing challenge.


The Grand Final of the FMG Young Farmer of the Year will take place on July 6th to 8th in the Manawatu with seven Grand Finalists from around New Zealand including Otago/Southland winner Nigel Woodhead and Aorangi finalist Arjan Van't Klooster, and Tasman’s Andrew Wiffen (four Regional Finals are yet to take place).


AgriKids place getters; with the top three also qualifying for the Grand Final in Manawatu went to:

Third Place – Mini Milkers from Black Ball School, Second place to Gumboot Gang and First to Tasman Tikes both from North Lowburn School.

The TeenAg place getters with the top two Places Qualifying for the Grand Final; Third Place Darfield High School, Second Place Christchurch Boys High School with first place also going to a team from Darfield High School.


How the FMG Young Farmer of the Year works:

400 contestants competed in 22 District Contest and Skills Day nation-wide where they can opt to 'Have a Go' which means they cannot progress to the next level – or they can enter competitively.

56 contestants compete in seven regional finals from Northern, Waikato-Bay of Plenty, Taranaki-Manawatu, East Coast, Tasman, Aorangi, Otago-Southland from February to April.

The seven winners of the regional final will go the Grand Final in July 2017 at Manawatu.

In 49 years only three females have ever made the Grand Final:

Denise Brown who placed seventh in 1981

Louise Collingwood who was RUNNER UP and third place in 2003 and 2001

Katherine Tucker placed seventh in 2012


For more information, please call Carolyn Bennett, National Events and Marketing Manager, NZ Young Farmers on 021913035 or