Tension is building as practical day begins to reveal contenders for the title

Posted by Nadine Porter on 7 July 2017 | Comments


This year we will have all ongoing footage, photos and press releases available via our google dropbox (Images of contestants are available there now):

Download Google Dropbox at www.dropbox.com

Access Contest with this link:  http://ow.ly/xiP330dghsB


Tension is building as practical day begins to reveal contenders for the title

Tension is building at the FMG Young Farmer of the Year as the seven Grand Finalists are put under immense pressure as the practical day begins to reveal contenders for the title.

At first light this morning, the finalists began their practical challenges on their farmlets and a series of modules across various agri-industries to test their knowledge and experience.

They will also compete side by side in the Hynds Agri-sports Challenge in the ultimate test of physical and mental endurance.

Some strong practical competitors showed their hand during the day including Otago/Southland’s Nigel Woodhead and Aorangi’s Arjan van’t Klooster. However, East Coast’s Hamish Best performed well in last night’s Meridian Energy Agri-knowledge speech and quiz show, as did Northern’s Lisa Kendall, Taranaki/Manawatu’s James Lawn, Waikato/Bay of Plenty finalist Richard French and Tasman’s Andrew Wiffen.

With the field very evenly matched Contest officials say it is too close to call as to who might eventually take out the title with every finalist in the running in the tightest field in years.

This afternoon marks the end of competition for the finalists who will have to wait until the Saturday night to find out who will take out the prestigious title at the Gala finale at Manfeild Park in Feilding.

The winner of the first ever Trans-Tasman Agri-Olympic challenge will also be announced following current FMG Young Farmer of the Year Athol New taking on the might of Australia with Tasmanian Young Farmer of the Year Marty McConnon in a series of practical challenges.

Tonight will also mark the crowning of the AgriKidsNZ and TeenAg winners when they are announced at a special prize-giving at Feilding Ag High School.

In another exciting development this year, the Contest will-be-featured in an online platform through the NZ Young Farmers You Tube channel and on the Contest Facebook page.  For the first time views will be able to see a mixture of livestream and pre-recorded clips as the Contest progresses including tomorrow night’s announcement of the 49th FMG Young Farmer of the Year.

It will also be featured on Country TV on Thursday 13 July at 7.30pm.


 How the FMG Young Farmer of the Year works:

400 contestants competed in 22 District Contest and Skills Day nation-wide.

56 contestants compete in seven regional finals from Northern, Waikato-Bay of Plenty, Taranaki-Manawatu, East Coast, Tasman, Aorangi, Otago-Southland from February to April.

The seven winners of the regional final will now compete at the Grand Final in the Manawatu this week.

In 49 years only four females have ever made the Grand Final:

Denise Brown who placed Seventh in 1981

Louise Collingwood who was Placed Third and Runner Up in 2001 and 2003

Katherine Tucker placed Seventh in 2012

Lisa Kendall in 2017

For more information, please call NZ Young Farmers Communication Manager Nadine Porter on 0212140703 or email nadine.porter@youngfarmers.co.nz