Te Radar the new face of FMG Young Farmer of the Year

Posted by Nadine Porter on 14 December 2016 | Comments

Beloved presenter Te Radar is the new front-man for the FMG Young Farmer of the Year and will travel the country hosting the Regional Finals early next year before presenting the Grand Final in July. 

The effervescent host, is well known to New Zealand television audiences and is honoured to be the new face of such a prestigious event. 

"It is one of New Zealand's truly iconic events with some great hosts over the years that have left a strong legacy." 

Originally from an Ohinewai dairy farm in the Waikato, Te Radar is right at home narrating the Contest having grown up watching the fierce competition on television and having a brother who was once a Young Farmer member. 

"I have these childhood memories of watching it on telly, thinking I could answer the quiz questions but never getting them right. I never thought that one day I would be the one asking those questions!." 

Having watched some Regional Finals last year and compering the final evening show at the Grand Final, Te Radar has gleaned an understanding of what it takes to win the FMG Young Farmer of the Year. 

"It's not just about physical requirements – they have to be strong mentally and have excellent time management skills. It's mind boggling and incredible to watch." 

Contest chairman Dean Rabbidge said he was delighted to welcome Te Radar as the new face of the Contest and said his skills would add another dimension in the 49th year of the competition. 

"And with the landmark 50th Contest coming up, we couldn't think of anybody more fitting to represent the refreshed format we've recently introduced. Te Radar is a beloved character in New Zealand and we couldn't be happier to see him take on this role." 

NZ Young Farmers CEO Terry Copeland was also thrilled to secure Te Radar and took the opportunity to thank previous hosts Mark Leishman and Craig Wiggins for their long service to the Contest. 

"We've had some wonderful hosts over the years – from Bob Parker to Jim Hopkins. All have added something to the Contest just as we are sure Te Radar will in his new role. His appointment is just one of several exciting changes coming up this year that will ensure the Contest remains a prestigious modern showcase of everything the Primary Industry has to offer all New Zealanders." 


Regional Final Dates and Competitors: 

Otago/Southland, Roxburgh, February 18th 2017: 

Steve Henderson, Nigel Woodhead, Alex Field, Allen Gregory (Southern District), Alan Harvey, Luke Kane, Lyndon Wallace, Mike Marshall (Otago District) 


Aorangi, Methven, February 25th 2017: 

Caleb Strowger, Toby How (Timaru District), Cameron Black, David Wards, James Gunson, Robbie Hill (Mid Canterbury District), John MehrtensArjan Van't Klooster (North Otago) 


Tasman, Hokitika, March 4th 2017: 

Andrew WiffenEllesh Norrie (West Coast), Simon Ferguson, Robin Hornblow, Megan Hands (Christchurch), Mitchell Flood (Nelson/Marlborough), Sam Heaven, Roscoe Taggart (Hurunui) 


Northern, Kamo, March 18th 2017: 

Colin Beazley, Lisa Kendall, Daniel Richards, Jack Thomas (Lower North, Kurtis Danks, Clement Lafon, Rachel Blackley, Ryan Marsh (Upper North) 


Waikato/Bay of Plenty, Te Awamutu, March 25th 2017: 

Tim Mason, Jo Jordan (Northern Waikato), Trevor Knyvett, Richard French (Bay of Plenty), Wayne Hofmann, Eion O'Mahony (Piako), Chris Poole, Mike Kjestrup (Waipa/King Country) 


East Coast, Waipukurau, April 1st 2017: 

Hamish Best, Hugh Abbiss, Ben Thomas (Hawkes Bay), Richard Cameron, Henry Reynolds (Wairarapa), Patrick Crawshaw, Daniel Tarbotton, Liam Kelly(Tararua) 


Taranaki/Manawatu, April 22nd 2017: 

Will Taylor, Nigel Will (Manawatu), Michael McCombs, Blair Briscoe (Taranaki Open), Kieran McCahon, Isabel Tait (Manawatu Open), James Lawn, Nick Brown (Taranaki Closed) 


The Grand Final of the FMG Young Farmer of the Year featuring the winners of each Regional Final will be held from 6th to 8th of July in the Manawatu Region. 


How the FMG Young Farmer of the Year works: 

400 contestants will compete in 22 District Contest and Skills Day nation-wide where they can opt to 'Have a Go' which means they cannot progress to the next level – or they can enter competitively. 

56 contestants will compete in seven regional finals from Northern, Waikato-Bay of Plenty, Taranaki-Manawatu, East Coast, Tasman, Aorangi, Otago-Southland from February to April. 

The seven winners of the regional final will go the Grand Final in July 2017 at Manawatu. 

In 49 years only three females have ever made the Grand Final: 

Denise Brown who placed seventh in 1981 

Louise Collingwood who was RUNNER UP and third place in 2003 and 2001 

Katherine Tucker placed seventh in 2012 

This year we have a total of six females competing in Regional Finals for the right to make the Grand Final. Numbers of females have been increasing year on year with the highest proportion of females competing this year in District Contest and Skills Days (58 per cent). This was the first time the number of females competing surpassed males. 

For more information please contact Nadine Porter, Communications Manager on 021 2140703 or email nadine.porter@youngfarmers.co.nz 



  Te Radar in head to head challenge 2