Second Grand Finalist named

Posted by on 27 February 2016 | Comments

SECOND GRAND FINALIST CONFIRMED IN FMG YOUNG FARMER OF THE YEAR FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 27/02/2016 Calvin Ball is the second Grand Finalist to be named in the 2016 FMG Young Farmer of the Year.

The 25 year old took first place at the Waikato/Bay of Plenty Regional Final in Huntly on Saturday 27th February.

Mr Ball went home with went home with a prize pack worth over $10,000 including cash, scholarships and products and services from  FMG, Massey University, Ravensdown, Median Energy, AGMARDT, Silver Fern Farms, Honda, STIHL and Vodafone. He also won the AGMARDT Agri-Business Challenge.

Calvin has competed at Regional Final level twice; this will be his first attempt at Grand Final level, a life-long goal of his. Calvin works in the business and strategy team for Ballance Agri-Nutrients and has been involved with Young Farmers since 2009.

Mr Ball is off to the Grand Final in Timaru, 7 – 9 July, where he will battle it out for the Grand Champion’s title and more than $162,200 in prizes.

The Waikato/Bay of Plenty Regional Final featured an exceptionally strong group of contestants with plenty of knowledge and talent on display. The eight contestants were put through their paces in a variety of challenging modules touching on all aspects of farming from practical hands-on tasks to theory and business components.

Second place went to James Bryan, 30, of the Cambridge Young Farmers Club.  James took home a cash reward of $700 from FMG, a $250 account credit from Meridian Energy, a WB20 water pump from Honda, $1000 voucher for the purchase of outdoor power equipment from STIHL and products and services to the value of $600 from Vodafone. James also won the Meridian Agri-Knowledge, Silver Fern Farms Agri-Sports and Ravensdown Agri-Skills Challenges. 

Third place went to 30 year old, Alex Griffin of Te Puke Young Farmers Club. The 50:50 sharemilker also took out the Massey University Agri-Growth Challenge. 

Alongside the FMG Young Farmer of the Year Practical Day events New Zealand’s future farmers were in competition too in TeenAg and AgriKids competitions.

The top three teams from TeenAg and AgriKids competitions will compete at the Grand Final in Timaru, 7- 9 July.

The TeenAg competition was taken out by William Robertson and Matthew Findsen from Hamilton Boys High School. Second place went to Brad Edwards and Quinn Bowie from St Pauls High School. Third place was taken by Kayla Storey and Nicole Beveridge from Waikato Diocesan for Girls.

The AgriKids competition was won by Edmund White, Luke Farrell and Alex Fladgate a team from Putaruru College and St Marys Putaruru. Second place went Nerida Bateup, Mackenzie Richards and Robbie Henry from Huntly College and Ohinewai School. Third place went to Ana Sattrup, Mia Suttrup and Watkins all from Ruawaro Combined School. 

The 2016 FMG Young Farmer of the Year features seven Regional Finals culminating in the Grand Final.